I Won't Know Until it's too Late

2006-11-21, 5:49 a.m.

"Death's a sad bone; bruised, you'd say/ and yet she waits for me, year after year/ to so delicately undo an old wound/ to empty my breath from its bad prison." - Anne Sexton

What is it like to die? Is there a Heaven, Hell, reincarnation? Does God exist? Will I see Her and be revealed life's truths and meaning, or simply rot away in a forgotten grave with no more awareness of my existence than the dirt I lie in? Is there such a thing as the eternal soul, or is that just something we've made up to lessen the fear of death's permanence? If people do have souls, does dying even matter? If one's essence is eternal does killing the physical self really end anything? Or does the body just act as sort of a container, keeping all of our pain from spilling out and taking over the entire Universe?

These containers are a barrier to God. Self destructive energy is simply the soul struggling to free itself, to reconnect.

Last :or: Next